Back to top

Frontpoint Home Security Review

DIY installation, professional monitoring, and customizable home security.

Written by: Monique Seitz-Davis  |   Updated: May 9, 2018

Ranking number one on our list of the top home security systems, Frontpoint home security systems merge customizable plans and great customer service with DIY installation and professional monitoring service. If it's in your budget, Frontpoint’s a good option—but it is more expensive than many of the competitors.

Frontpoint

Best for DIY Installation

  • Great customer service
  • Risk-free trial
  • DIY installation
  • Professional monitoring
  • Portable equipment

Frontpoint at a Glance

Frontpoint has considerate customer service, cellular monitoring, customizable plans, and wireless equipment. For folks who have a laundry list of questions and want a little bit of everything, Frontpoint’s versatility and flexibility is enough to warrant a 5-star rating. But because Frontpoint’s contracts are a little restrictive and on the pricey side, they received 4.5-stars instead.

Learn More About Our Rating Criteria

Read Customer Reviews

frontpoint

Price and Contract

Learn More

Tech and Equipment

Learn More

Home Automation

Learn More

Customer Service

Learn More

Frontpoint Prices and Packages

 

Basic Plan

View Plans

Interactive Plan

View Plans

Ultimate Plan

View Plans
Connectivity

Cellular

Cellular

Cellular

Installation Type

DIY

DIY

DIY

Installation Fee

No

No

No

Warranty

3 years

3 years

3 years

Professional Monitoring

Y

Y

Y

Flood, Fire, and CO2 Protection

Y

Y

Y

Wireless Design

Y

Y

Y

Crash and Smash Protection

Y

Y

Y

Included Equipment

Wireless control panel
Panic pendant
Sensors (door, window, flood, garage, glass)

Wireless control panel
Panic pendant
Sensors (door, window, flood, garage, glass, motion)

Wireless control panel
Panic pendant
Sensors (door, window, flood, garage, glass, motion)

Works with Home Automation

N

Y

Y

Alerts

N

Text, Email

Text, Email

Remote Control

N

Y

Y

Door Locks

N

N

Y

Smart Thermostat

N

N

Y

Video Camera

N

N

Y

Live Video Streaming

N

N

Y

Video Recording

N

N

Y

How Frontpoint Security Stacks Up

Price and Contract

Price and contract are not Frontpoint’s strong suits. The company’s contracts are a bit constraining, and the price is a little high in comparison to competitors’. That said, Frontpoint offers the freedom of customization and includes quality devices.

Pros
  • Professional Monitoring
    One of Frontpoint’s best features is its DIY installation—but that doesn’t mean you have to do your own monitoring too. Frontpoint plans all include 24/7 professional monitoring.
  • Well-Rounded Plans
    At $44.99 a month, the Interactive Plan has professional monitoring, remote control, smart home capabilities, and a range of high-end products to choose from.
  • Customizable Options
    Frontpoint’s home security system is entirely customizable. If you want to tack on a few more motion sensors than what’s included in your plan, you can do that.
  • Crash and Smash Protection
    All Frontpoint security systems plans include Crash and Smash protection, which means that if your control panel is destroyed by a break-in or other disaster, a help signal is still sent to the monitoring center.
Cons
  • Restrictive, Long-Term Contracts
    If you don’t like commitment, you might be put off by Frontpoint’s long contract requirements—especially if you’re unsure where you’ll be living in one to three years. But the company does let you take your system to a new location if you move.
  • Costly Fees
    Both Frontpoint’s monthly contracts and early termination fees cost a pretty penny. And while the early termination fees are offset by Frontpoint’s portable design, no one likes being saddled with high cancellation costs—especially if you’re unhappy with the service agreement.

Tech and Equipment

This is an area that Frontpoint does well in. Even in the most basic plans, devices like a control panel and smoke and carbon monoxide detectors are included. Frontpoint features a cellular connection, which is great if you don’t have a landline.

Pros
  • Cellular Connection
    As opposed to a hardwired or Wi-Fi connection, Frontpoint’s connectivity is cellular, so be sure to check the strength of your cell signal before committing to a plan. A cellular connection means there are no hardwires that can be cut by burglars, and you also won’t be vulnerable if your Wi-Fi goes down.
  • DIY Installation
    Most home security companies end up charging you an arm and a leg for installation. Frontpoint’s DIY installation saves you money and lets you install your system exactly how you want to.
  • Portable, High-End Equipment
    Frontpoint includes top-of-the-line equipment in even its most basic packages, and you can take your system with you if you move, which is something a lot of companies don’t allow.
  • Convenient App
    Frontpoint’s mobile app lets you unlock the door remotely or talk to the mailman through your video doorbell. But remote access and control is available only with the Interactive and Ultimate plans.
Cons

There’s not much we don’t like about Frontpoint’s tech and equipment offerings, but we did find that Frontpoint’s cellular connection didn’t work for all customers.

  • Cellular Connection
    As great as cellular connectivity is, if you live in an area with bad or zero cell service, Frontpoint is not the home security provider you should go with. To learn about alternative alarm system providers, read our in-depth reviews on Best Home Security Systems.

Home Automation

Some of Frontpoint’s plans have home automation devices already included with your purchase—but Frontpoint is also compatible with other smart home devices. If you want to buy your home automation devices and security system in one fell swoop, we recommend getting the Interactive or Ultimate Plan.

Pros
  • Wide Range of Compatibility
    Frontpoint is compatible with a variety of smart home hubs and devices, including Amazon Alexa and Google Home.
  • Freedom of Choice
    Frontpoint’s plans are entirely customizable, so you’re able to tailor your plan to your home. Choose devices ranging from smart locks, video doorbells, security cameras, and smart lights that can lower your power bill.
  • Convenient Design
    Frontpoint puts an emphasis on portability and convenience. Not only are the plans customizable but all the devices are easy to install and relocate if you need to move or decide that a device would work better in a different spot.
Cons
  • Plan Limitations
    Despite Frontpoint’s emphasis on customization and convenience, the provided plans can be limiting if you’re looking for certain inclusions. For example, if you want access to live video streaming through your home security cameras, you’ll need to purchase the Ultimate Plan.

Customer Service

Frontpoint’s customer service team is known for going above and beyond. In the event of an emergency, you can trust associates to respond quickly and kindly.

Pros
  • Positive Customer Reviews
    Frontpoint’s customer service reps are genuinely interested in making sure you find the perfect system for your home. Additionally, reviewers stated that Frontpoint’s team responded to emergencies quickly and clearly communicated next steps. This level-headed approach ensures that crises are handled correctly and with as little stress as possible.
Cons
  • Better Contract Communication
    Some reviewers reported that Frontpoint’s customer service failed to specify the length or binding nature of the 3-year contract.

Frontpoint FAQs

Does Frontpoint have a money-back guarantee?

Yes. Frontpoint has a 30-day, risk-free trial so you can decide whether or not the system is right for you.

Is the Frontpoint mobile app easy to use?

Yes. Whether you’re using the phone app or the desktop portal at MyFrontpoint.com, the platform is easy to navigate and won’t give you a headache.

What’s the best home automation device?

We love the video doorbell camera—you can keep an eye on the goings-on outside your home without having to actually be at the door.

What is the difference between the keychain remote and the panic pendant?

The keychain remote works like a car key fob—it can unlock, lock, and activate an alarm with the push of a button. The panic pendant is similar, but it sends and sounds a customizable alert. This device is ideal for aging adults or people who want a little extra protection. Additionally, to prevent false alarms, the pendant’s button is recessed.

Frontpoint Equipment

Video Doorbell

A video doorbell is like having eyes and ears on the outside of your home.

Indoor Camera

Supervise your home remotely or from a few rooms over with the indoor camera.

Door and Window Sensors

Monitor when doors and windows are opening and closing with receptive window and door sensors.

Carbon Monoxide Sensor

Identify tough-to-detect carbon monoxide with this sensor.

Touchscreen Control Panel

Control your security system and home automation devices from a touchscreen.

Glass Break Sensor

This discreet sensor notifies you if a thief breaks glass windows to enter your home.

Motion Detector

Get alerts about movement in your home when you’re away (don’t worry, these sensors are pet friendly).

The Bottom Line

Frontpoint works well for both renters and homeowners with customizable packages, portable design, professional monitoring, and multiple options for plans and products. While the plans are on the pricey side, there are no hidden fees, and the DIY installation cuts costs. And the company has a better customer service reputation than most other providers.

Pros
  • Free trial period
  • DIY installation
  • No hidden fees
  • Customizable plans
  • Portable, wireless equipment
  • Great customer service
  • Cellular connection
Cons
  • Expensive monthly costs
  • High termination fees

Frontpoint Customer Reviews

Great Customer Service

The customer service rep, Zahn was great! He was patient and very knowledgeable in this product. He walked me through step by step. O had no delay in my phone call.

Carolina V. from Mesquite, TX | May 26, 2018
Was this review helpful?

Excellent Technical Service

I called Tech services for help with an app and the person I spoke to was extremely helpful and patient. I am very happy with the help I received. I also had to update my account and was helped by Jim in customer service who was also very informed and answered all of my questions. I would recommend Frontpoint to anyone looking for a reliable security system with excellent customer and technical service.

Carol T. from Plainfield, NJ | March 01, 2018
Was this review helpful?

Restrictive Contract

Their equipment is marginal, and their 3 yr contract is very restrictive. The door sensor didn't fit the molding and kept falling off. It's a second home for me and as I approach retirement I'm trying to save on monthly expenses. I tried to return the equipment, but I'd still be responsible for another 2 yrs of monthly charges. When I signed up they told me that if I wasn't satisfied, I could return the equipment and cancel. In the fine print of the contract this appears not to be the case. There are many other companies out there that provide home security that don't require such long term contracts. I would never recommend Front point to anyone.

Daniel J. from Austin, TX | September 23, 2017
Was this review helpful?

Great System

I agonized over which system/company to go with for a home security system. I looked at all the major and some smaller companies and I wanted something with the right balance of tech and price. Frontpoint is on the higher end of price but it's capabilities and the customer service justify the price. I've contacted them a few times and tested the system and I have never had a problem getting in touch. It seems like they are just beginning incorporating other smart devices in but they seem committed to it. Very happy with my decision.

Michael B. from Dallas, TX | September 04, 2017
Was this review helpful?

Super Easy And Effective!

I needed a cellular based system for our little cabin in the woods. Research pointed me to Front Point -- and I'm glad. Very easy to understand buying options, easy to install and easy to use. Camera allows me to look on at any time to see if all is good. Flawless reliability. Best of all, Customer Support is readily available and communicates clearly. Would immediately go with Front Point again if I had it to do all over again.

Ron S. from Pine Mountain, GA | August 23, 2017
Was this review helpful?

Good Customer Service

I feel the customer service was very good, with the exception of the door bell cams. I ordered window and door sensors and they were easily installed. FrontPoint even exchanged a sensor so I could put one on my shed which was too far away from the main control. When I attempted to install the door bell cams, they didn't work properly. The advise I received was to hire an electrician. All in all, I am satisfied with the service to this point.

Brian S. from Waupaca, WI | July 20, 2017
Was this review helpful?

Easy

I was skeptical about any security system, but after calling FrontPoint and talking to a representative, I was sold. He answered all my questions and explained all options. After receiving the equipment, I installed it myself, in very little time. I had a few questions afterward, so called the customer service line and was helped out by a very friendly CSR. FrontPoint does not use the homeowner's wifi, making it even safer. If you try it, you will love it. I am a real person and honestly was not solicited to write this review. Thanks FrontPoint!

Christine N. from Mercer, PA | July 10, 2017
Was this review helpful?

Frontpoint Is Well Worth It

I have had frontpoint for 1yr and they are great. They keep you informed on new updates and software as well as call when there is any concerns. In short words, they do what they say and make you feel safe.

Emmanuel M. from Worceater, MA | April 28, 2017
Was this review helpful?

Amazing!

I called in an never felt pressured to buy from them like I did with ADT and other companies. Marcus was an amazing representative and offered me excellent service and benefits. So happy with this company!

Victoria M. from Omaha, NE | April 20, 2017
Was this review helpful?

Self Install Is Not For The Mechanical Inept

Don't use the adhesive tape method of mounting Smoke detectors as they fail. Ours fell in the middle of night, fell apart and set off the alarm sending the fire department. Dropped the control panel once, it opened up and had a heck of time getting all put back together. The user guides are one page and elementary at best, totally useless. We have had a couple minor events, and the system and monitoring worked perfectly. Website is good and the Cell Phone apps are excellent. I feel you should be young and/or have some mechanical aptitude (know how to use a screwdriver and install sensors using screws.... don't use the supplied adhesive tape. Customer support hours not the best for West-coasters.

Mark H. from Everett, WA | April 01, 2017
Was this review helpful?

One Month In And Very Happy

Unlike other reviewers, I found the install to be extremely easy. I appreciate the fact that motion detectors use Command quick release adhesives that will safeguard my walls if I ever decide to move them or repaint the rooms. I have spoken to about four representatives for various inquiries to date and I have found all of them to be very professional and thoroughly trained in all aspects of the product. I can recommend this system highly at this early stage of my contract.

Mark S. from Mohrsville, PA | September 10, 2016
Was this review helpful?

Frontpoint

Seems to be doing an adequate job. Occasionally when i call I get someone who is rather snippy but most are nice.

Mary R. from Lake Villa, IL | August 31, 2016
Was this review helpful?

Good Company And Descent Equipment

Had my system for about 12months and like it so far. When I ordered my equipment they sent a wrong sensor but quickly sent me out the right one. Quick response when alarm triggered and for tech support. Can't complain about much other then I wished they offered more automation as far as camera selections and microphones to hear and see what's going on in the house.

Mike D. from Rescue, CA | August 29, 2016
Was this review helpful?

Reliable And Easy To Use

We had FrontPoint for our small business. The equipment was easy to use and the service was good - quick and courteous calls after an alarm and good follow-up. After we sold the business it was relatively easy to transfer the service to the new owner, with only a few hiccups including them not changing the credit card used for billing. That alarm is LOUD!

Beth S. from Federal Way, WA | August 26, 2016
Was this review helpful?

Home Security

We have been with Frontpoint for 3 years now. Has been a great system overall. have had to replace battery once they sent a new one right away. Like having the app on my phone to control the system when away. Customer Service is great. Have been very helpful when needed. My contract is up (3 year). Will be staying with them. Now it will be on a month to month basis which I like that, so if we decide to stop we can without all the extra charges.

Pam B. from Carlin, NV | August 17, 2016
Was this review helpful?

Bait And Switch

Just a scam unless every door and window in your home is a cookie cutter, flush surfaces, no recessed doors or windows and no crown molding or molding of any kind. If you are in that home then you can consider Frontpoint. Otherwise be prepared to break out the drills and tape measures and your carpentry skills in order to install. Even some installation would be OK but they have no on home support or technicians other than people who can send you a picture of the tools you will need to actually install the 'simple' system. Not one video or piece of collateral shares the fact that you need to order special recessed sensors likely to preserve the fallacy that it is so so so easy to install. Be honest with your customers Frontpoint. It only works simply for the 1% of houses where everything is square and flush. Just misleading.

William F. from Weston, MA | July 31, 2016
Was this review helpful?

Big Mistake

This is the worst set up. The pieces kept falling off and I gave up and have not used it in months. I called about it and wanted to cancel service for good, somehow I missed early on when signing and was told that I am stuck for 29 more months of paying $45/month for nothing. Instead of focusing on fixing the issue, my anger rose with them because the lady only reminded me that I am responsible for the remaining months. It's junk. Don't even waste time trying this system out even with the 30 day trial, because it's after that when things fall apart.

Tara P. from Baytown , TX | July 04, 2016
Was this review helpful?

Frontpoint Is Not The Best

I had them for almost 3 years only because i was stuck into a contract twice. Luckily the second time only for a year and then called a month prior to the contract being up since you have to email them with specific wording to cancel the contract or they will not except it. Their employees lie beyond belief this last employee lied several times then had the nerve to tell me he did not say it when i confronted him with the facts which inturn he asked me to sign up for 3 years more i told them no not after the experience i have had he offered to make it up to me but then failed and said he could not do what was promised. So now i have a system which i have paid 1600 bucks for and no monitoring service since no one else will touch a frontpoint system.

Cindy S. from Yakima, WA | July 04, 2016
Was this review helpful?

Beware Of Agreement

If you get a Frontpoint system BEWARE: you are signing an agreement for 36 months! If you decide to change company a year into the agreement you have to pay the rest of the contract. A whole pile of money.

Edward T. from Coquitlam, Canada, WA | March 08, 2016
Was this review helpful?

Great Customer Service.

I have only been with Frontpoint for a couple of months, and I thankfully haven't experienced break in. I hope I never do, to be honest. What I base this review on is the stellar customer service and ease of installation. I love that I can put the unit anywhere or take it with me if I move. There are no wires, no permanent fixtures or cutting into any walls. I've had one 'almost' false alarm when my roommate forgot her access code to disarm it. I was away from home at a work function and Frontpoint called me right away. Everything was cleared up in a matter of seconds. I did not feel rushed or unimportant. I'm overall happy with the service and plan on getting more features. Great job, Frontpoint!

Wendy S. from Phoenix, AZ | February 26, 2015
Was this review helpful?

Very Pleased!

I've had this system for about 18 months. It was very easy to install. I've been very pleased with the service, and with technical support. I had one bad freeze sensor, but they sent a replacement right away. The alarm works well. It's gone off twice, once when the cat knocked the motion sensor off the mantel (solution, mount it to the wall as instructed - no more problems), and once when my sister-in-law used her key to open the door, but did not know the code (solution - she has her own code now). All in all, the system works exactly as it should. Highly recommended!

Shannon C. from Miami, FL | February 02, 2015
Was this review helpful?

Absolute Worst Alarm Company Ever!!!

Worst alarm company ever! I got woken up at 5:30am by the alarm system going off. I received a call from the Frontpoint security associate asking if everything was okay. I went to check and everything was fine but the associate seemed to be hurrying me because I guess he had something better to do. So it seems that the sensor was bad (something that happens all the time). I do not live in a good neighborhood and the Frontpoint associate did not know how to disable that one sensor so that I could keep my security system on. So now it is dark and the whole security system is off. I'm being told that someone will be contacting me soon. These people don't care about you or your safety. I have lost so much sleep because of this system that is out of date and unreliable. This is by far the worst alarm company out there. They will get this review removed fast because their whole business is based on good reviews and Yelp seems to be in their pocket but I hope at least a few people read this and are persuaded not to sign up with this horrible company. I absolutely hate this alarm company. It has been nothing but a headache. It has been several hours since the first alarm now, and the kitchen window sensor is going off for no reason. Like I said, this system is so cheap, inadequate, bulky and out of date. Now my fiance has to sit at the house with no alarm system. What is the point of an alarm system if you have to lose sleep and worry about it protecting your home sufficiently. Worst alarm company EVER!!!

Mathew A. from Royal Palm Beach, FL | December 10, 2014
Was this review helpful?

Reliable Frontpoint Security

I've had FrontPoint home security for about two years now. I love the ease of installation and cost. My favorite feature is the phone app that allows me to control my system remotely. Overall, I enjoy the convenience and sense of security that having FrontPoint provides.

Heather V. from San Antonio, TX | July 17, 2014
Was this review helpful?

Best Security!

There have been a few break-ins in my area recently and it made my whole family worried, but ever since installing FrontPoint my family has no longer worries about security. Setup was very easy and the phone app is well designed and simple to use. I would recommend FrontPoint to everyone I know.

Alan C. from San Diego, CA | July 15, 2014
Was this review helpful?

Frontpoint Security

I thankfully have had no attempted break-ins, so I can't comment on how well FrontPoint would handle those situations. However, FrontPoint helps me feel more safe at home. I like the audible alerts when the doors are opened, so I know if someone is entering my home. I also like the phone app, which allows me to control the security system while away from home.

Heather V. from San Antonio, TX | June 01, 2014
Was this review helpful?

Frontpoint Review

i'VE been using FrontPoint for security now for about 2 years and have had no problems with it. Luckily we haven't had to use it for it's purpose but I have a sense of wellbeing just knowing it's there and armed and ready.

Gretchen L. from N Richland Hills, TX | February 26, 2014
Was this review helpful?

Quick And Easy

Pleased with the whole process from order to installation.

Gary L. from Orlando, FL | May 09, 2013
Was this review helpful?

    How We Evaluated Frontpoint

    To evaluate Frontpoint, we thoroughly researched the company, listened to customer feedback, and tested the products ourselves. Not only that—we put the customer service team through the paces and tried to find the best system for us. To find out more about how we evaluated Frontpoint, check out our methodology.

    Find out how easy it is to get started. View Plans

    This site is a U.S. Consumer site. You can learn more about our site and privacy policy here.